
About


House Origins
The Thomas Day House was originally located in South Boston, Virginia in Halifax County, roughly 25 miles from Milton, NC.
In 1937, the Works Progress Administration (WPA) surveyed the entire property. Its condition was described as “Fair” and “Not spoiled architecturally by remodeling.” The report described many important features of the house and its surroundings including out-buildings.
The WPA research indicated that the house was built in 1828, likely commissioned by its first owner, George W. Tucker. Similar to other houses in Halifax County, it was characterized by the architectural trims of Thomas Day. However, the Thomas Day House was built all in one period, without any additions. The house's spectacular fireplace, striking mantels, and 'S' shaped newel staircases are some of the surviving features that carry on Day's legacy.
Relocation to Petersburg
In 1998, the house was relocated to Petersburg, Virginia. Each piece of the house was meticulously numbered and color coded for reassembly at the current location on High Street, an excellent location to honor Thomas Day's heritage. The early restoration progress included a copper roof, restored windows with historically accurate materials, and both original cladding as well as cladding from other period historical properties across the state but work stopped, leaving the house unfinished.


Restoring the House
In June 2019, after having sat dormant for many years, the house was acquired by its new owner, Bill Nicholson, who is currently working on the restoration process. To complement Thomas Day and the house, Nicholson has aquired a large collection of furniture designed by Mr. Day that will be part of the house once the thoughtful restoration process has been completed.